Pasadena Showcase House 2012

This year, I was selected to participate in the Pasadena Showcase House for the Arts 2012. This is a huge honor in the world of interior design. The Pasadena Showcase House is the longest running and most well attended designer showcase house in the country. Through this amazing experience, I was able to showcase my design work to over 25,000 attendees.

How the showcase house works is a mansion is emptied and each interior designer gets to design a designated room. My room was the hall bath, which functions as the kids’ bath and guest bath. The house is a Spanish Colonial Revival built in 1927. It is located in La Canada Flintridge, the heart of the mission-style movement.

(Before)

(Before)

(Before)

My goal was to transform this non-descript white and plain porcelain-tiled room to the look I felt it should always have had. I wanted to take it back to its Spanish Colonial Revival roots, while making it feel fresh and current at the same time. Before, this bathroom was very plain and looked like it could have been anywhere. I did not feel it was worthy of this grand home. Upon entering the room, I was very taken by the view from the window. I also thought the room should act as the picture frame for the art, which is the gorgeous view from the window. (And, yes, that is stars-and-stripes wallpaper on the ceiling in the before pictures.)

(During)

(During)

I used Revival Tiles from Mission Tile West. This is a tile made in the same manner as style as those popular in the Pasadena area during the era in which the home was built. I used two tones of blue, thus keeping the color palate light, bright, cheerful and very “now.” The floor tile is an amazing new cut of Carrera marble, which to me feels much like that used in Spain. I went with a contemporary version of a classic style with the vanity cabinet, which is also topped with Carrera marble. I juxtaposed the cabinet and modern light fixtures with classic-yet-playful Newport Brass plumbing fixtures and fittings from Snyder Diamond.  I finished the room with a custom silver-leafed mirror and mirror-framed art. This enabled me to bounce light and brightness throughout the place.

To complete the job, I worked with an amazing crew of sub-contactors. We demolished the previous bathroom, taking the walls and floors down to the studs, then building the room up again from scratch.

(After)

(After)

(After)

(After)

This was my first experience participating in a designer showcase house, and I enjoyed it immensely! My favorite part was the reactions I received from the patrons of the design tour. So many said the room was like a jewel box, uplifting and cheerful. They loved the colors, textures, and attention-to-detail. They felt it was spa-like, serene, refreshing, beautiful and peaceful. I felt so proud because this is exactly what I wanted the room to feel like. Some even said this was their favorite room in the entire house, which made me grin from ear-to-ear.

I hope to have the opportunity to showcase my design work to another home tour in the near future, to present other functional-yet-beautiful environments to thousands.

Sincerely

Alicia

AFID

http://www.aliciafriedmann.com

www.pasadenashowcase.org

twitter.com/aliciafriedmann

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alicia-Friedmann-Interior-Design/234155617151


One thought on “Pasadena Showcase House 2012

Leave a Reply

